chicken tortilla soup

22 Feb

chicken tortilla soup

I am a soup junky. I love soup. I also love the saltine crackers that usually accompany a good soup. I think I may even love the crackers as much as the soup. So I’d never made soup before and decided it was about time I tried.

olive oil
small onion, diced
3 cloves of garlic, diced
red pepper flakes
salt
1 28 oz. can whole peeled tomatoes
1 carton (or 4 cups) low sodium chicken broth 
1 tsp. cumin
juice of 1-2 limes
8 corn tortillas, cut into strips
1 rotisserie chicken, shredded off the bone
2 cans of beans of your choice (I use black)
small container of frozen corn
shredded mexican blend cheese
sour cream

In a medium to large soup pot, heat olive oil (just enough to cover the bottom).  When oil is heated, add in onion and garlic, and cook until softened, about 10 minutes.  Add in salt and red pepper flakes, and let cook for 2 minutes.

Add in canned, whole tomatoes. Add chicken stock, and let come to a simmer. Simmer, uncovered, for about 15-20 minutes. Add in cumin, lime juice, and tortilla strips. Let simmer for about 3 minutes more. Using an immersion blender, blend soup until smooth. If you don’t have one, you can blend the soup in batches using a regular blender. Add chicken, frozen corn, and beans. Bring everything back to a simmer, so that everything is heated through.

Can be served with shredded Mexican cheese, sour cream and cilantro on top.

recipe from: picky eatings

comments: I love soup and this one did not fail me… except for the fact that I made it too thick and it ended up being more like chili than soup. It was really easy to make (although I always time my cooking poorly and end up taking twice as long as I think it will take. I must work on estimating time it takes liquids to reduce or boil). I used flour tortillas for my soup b/c corn tortillas were sold in 30 tortilla packs, far too many for my needs. However I forgot along the way that flour tortillas are bigger. and denser. and this is how my soup ended up too thick. I would suggest only using 4 flour tortillas if I remade this dish. I also had trouble blending the soup because for some reason the tomatoes and tortillas, or maybe the temperature of the ingredients, made my blender go crazy and the lid would start to fly off. So I had to grab a towel and hold down the lid with all my might. Beware of blending also because the between the ingredients phase and the blended phase is the “looks like puke” phase, which can be a little repulsive. But this was still a great soup/chili and I’d make it again

Leave a Reply

