belgian waffle #1

16 Mar

 

I love belgian waffles. I love them so much that I splurge purchased a Waring Pro WMK300 Belgian Waffle Maker off of Craigslist. 🙂 Now I can eat all the waffles I want!


Yields: 4 waffles

4 eggs
1 Tbsp sugar
1/4 (1/2 stick) butter (I always use unsalted when cooking)
1 cup milk (whole is ideal, but I used 2%)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Beat the yolks and sugar in a bowl until lightened in color. Beat in the milk, vanilla, and melted butter. Beat in the flour, salt, and baking powder, stirring as little as is necessary to incorporate it–if you overdo it, the waffles will be tough.

Meanwhile, using a mixer, whisk the egg whites until stiff. Gently fold this into the thick batter. Take care not to beat the air out of the fluffed egg whites.

Spray the waffle iron with cooking spray like PAM (VERY important! waffles stick like crazy). Make your waffles. Your waffle iron should come with a measuring cup telling you how much to pour in and ought to have its own doneness gauges.

Comments: Crispy, yummy, filling, a little bit dense (I don’t think I over mixed the batter). Since this recipe doesn’t use yeast, it’s a good recipe when you want waffles in a pinch. I like the fact that you can make a whole batch of waffles and freeze the leftovers so that you can have homemade frozen waffles as opposed to Eggos for breakfast.

recipe from Mike’s Table

Leave a Reply

