Sausage and Fire Roasted Tomato Soup

16 Mar

From my many days of buying gross, but usually yummy soup down in the Dairy, I have realized that I cannot live without soup. Or crackers. I actually can’t decide which I love more. The soup is lacking without crackers, but I don’t like soggy crackers that soak up the soup flavor, moreso the half-crispy, half-soggy consistency that you get after waiting a minute after throwing them in. Either way, I had to make soup and I found this on Foodgawker.

Adapted from Cooking Light 
Yield: 4 servings

1/2 tsp of olive oil
1 small onion
1 clove of garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper (omitted b/c of spicy chorizo)
8 ounces pork sausage (I used spicy chorizo, casings removed)
2 1/2 cups chicken broth (I used 1 box aka 2 cups of reduced-sodium)
1 (14.5-ounce) can fire roasted diced tomatoes
3/4 cup uncooked small shell pasta (Couldn’t find small shells, so I used mini wheels)
1 bag (~2 cups) baby spinach leaves
2 tablespoons grated fresh Parmesan or Romano cheese
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil to the pan. Add onion to the pan and cook until translucent. Add sausage, garlic, pepper, salt and red pepper to pan, and cook about 5 minutes or until browned, stirring to crumble.

Add broth, tomatoes, and pasta to pan, and bring to a boil over high heat. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until pasta is done. Remove from heat; stir in spinach until wilted.

Sprinkle each serving with cheese and basil.

Comments: I love soup, but this turned out to be more like pasta. Of course I never actually measured how much pasta I put in and I didn’t use as much chicken broth as I should have. When I reheated my leftovers, I always added more water to the broth to create more broth. I should have added more spinach b/c I love spinach. Overall, I was happy with the results.

recipe from Elizabeth’s Edible Experience

Leave a Reply

