thankful thursday

5 Jul

They danced down the streets like dingledodies, and I shambled after as I’ve been doing all my life after people who interest me, because the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes “Awww!”

  • ssb spring league. for my first time playing coed or touch fball, i loved it. my team was the nicest and hilarious. i especially loved all the social aspects of it, we do it well
  • c.wu who made it out for playoffs. i love this girl, she cracks me up.
  • six girls. it makes a difference to be able to sub in an entire new set of girls.
  • new loves of my life: bethesda and gtown. this spring i was exposed to these areas and had the times of my life. i love pretending to be a posh, rich kid. i don’t care how much crap people give yuppies, it’s a pretty fun life.
  • cj parkway. while i’ve been wanting to bike along the canal, i rarely go this way and it is so pretty and serene. and sans police.
  • good company. on the road. jack kerouac. people who are mad to live. i live for them. quirky people, crazy people, people who make the most of their life.
  • making it to semis amidst a lot of teams who usually play high life. losing to the team that has won year after year.
  • fairfax summer league. my first organized, coed, flag rec league. its so nice to have actual plays and a set defense again. with rules that make more sense.
  • pulling flags. sacking the QB. the ever so satisfying feeling you get from a key play.
  • heyser farms. i love that i live so close to an actual farm. there’s nothing like a fresh, homemade peach pie. no matter how many people prefer apples.
  • grilling, bbqs, being outside. thanks to drama for helping me learn to grill by default of being in charge of food. there’s nothing like grilling on a deck on a summer evening while sipping a cold beer
  • team dynamics. which comes from making key plays. but its so much better to feel worthwhile to my team and gain their respect and encouragement.
  • short work weeks. holidays. summer is so glorious, i’m in love with being outside
  • stego. my new friend 🙂
  • being creative. my yogurt photos, mr. squirrel, photo journal of stego, modeling. i love being inspired to create.
  • music is my hot, hot sex. i prob would die without it or at least due to stress or anxiety. i too often used it to help me sleep and relax this week
  • engineering fields. sitting outside in the sun during lunch and watching the world around me. i love having little stories all over the school.
  • the campus tour. realizing that we personalize our own experience for college and that’s what’s reflected in our stories. i love my schools and all of their quirks. i would never acknowledge that either maryland or umbc are superior to the other. i found homes at both and am so glad for that
  • getting out of work early. i love having free afternoons.
  • happy hours. exposing friends to things and places i enjoy and things that make me feel alive
  • sweaters. warmth. broken air conditioners.
  • spontaneous nights. flitting between people and convos while being social.
  • friends who are willing to be spontaneous with me. who are okay with last minute plans.
  • planned dates and schedules. i love having things to look forward to.
  • shopping. especially bargain and thrift store shopping. dresses. looking good.
  • raq. we are night and day. crazy. and most of the time we don’t annoy each other. and when we do, we know when to shut up.
  • last minute photoshoots. i love feeling needed. and dolling up. i am glad to add more to my portfolio and to have been to new places
  • meeting friendly, new people. nothing makes a party more fun than crazy kids.
  • rb. for 23 years of life and 9 years of friendship. ❤
  • pwb. it finally set in that he’s gone. when craziness hits, i could always count on him to be free and give me a huge hug and listen. and when i was just stupid, i knew he’d let me know and smack me across the face. or shove me into a bush.
One Response to “thankful thursday”

  1. Angela July 5, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

    what an amazing list this is! I’m so blessed and lucky to have made it onto it ❤

Leave a Reply

